PJ Pants and a Bikini

The PJ Pants are done and Kevin has them on now! YEAH!  Another successful pair.  This is Butterick 5153 again.

IMG_00000456

Since that’s done, I’ve decided that I’m going to make my sister a bikini next.  I had made her one before from this pattern, Kwik Sew 4003:

IMG_00000459

She really liked it, so she’s getting another one.   The full PR review is here:  http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/pattern/90545

This time, I did some serious slashing and spreading on the cup piece.

IMG_00000460

She said she feels like a lingerie model in the last one.  With this style, you can wear the cup spread apart for more coverage, or not…as you want.  I hope this works for her because I just took a guess as to how much to add.

For the bottom of the bikini, I’ll use Kwik Sew 3238. This is my favorite bikini bottom for the both of us and I can’t even guess how many times I’ve made it.   It’s nice to have patterns ready to go that I know will work.

IMG_00000461

Now, I’m currently waiting on her color selection…I sent these options to her earlier via text, but haven’t heard back yet.  I think the stripe one would look really cute on her, but we’ll see what she says.

IMG_00000457

In other sewing news, I’ve recently enrolled in the Craftsy class, Sew Better, Sew Faster with Janet Pray from Islander Patterns.  I do like taking Craftsy classes.  I think my next project may be the jacket from the class.  I just need to decide on the fabric I want to use!

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in Craftsy, Gifts, Kwik Sew. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to PJ Pants and a Bikini

  1. Laurie says:

    Awesome pants!! My youngest daughter keeps nagging me to make her a bikini. I have already bought a pattern but I really like that one!

    • Thanks! I get a lot of fun making bikinis! Those that you buy, even for megabucks, are never quite perfect. I love having all the control in my hands. If you’ve never made swimwear before, I highly recommend using the kwik sew method of applying the elastic. Basically you stitch the elastic into a circle, stitch it to the inside of the opening with a wide zigzag, then fold it inside and do a zigzag at the bottom of the folded over part. There was was pattern that I made (McCalls, I think) where they had you sew the elastic on so it was visible from the inside…not a pretty sight! Of course, at that time, I didn’t know any better. But, live and learn!

  2. I made it!! says:

    Happy sewing to you too!

  3. sewgrandma says:

    Re sister’s bottom …uh bikini bottom…she might want one of each color.

Leave a Reply

