Stripey Bikini In Process!

I had a chance to work on my sister’s bikini for a little bit tonight.   I had all the pieces cut out over the weekend, but then life took over.  Tonight I did some preliminary work and some work on the lining.

First, to check her size, I overlaid her bottom bra cup on the bottom of the bikini cup.  It’s kind of hard to see in this pic.   Allowing for seam allowances, I think she’ll have a little cup that she can scrunch together if she wants…that was the main draw of this pattern for her.  There will be a casing along the bottom, and I’ll lose a little on the sides for elastic, but I think it’ll work well enough.   You should be able to click on the photos to enlarge if you want.

IMG_00000465

It can only be better than the last one, so overall it should be better.  If not, I told her that I could modify it more on the next one.

Next I sewed cups into the cup lining.  I recycled these from a monokini that I made for me and never wore.  They’re not precisely the right size for her, but she just needs them for a little bit of coverage, so it should be fine.   I just eyeball this process.  My sewing can be far from precise.  I like to think that I’m precise when it matters.  😉

IMG_00000468

Next, I pinned the lining together with the outer fabric.

IMG_00000467 IMG_00000466

And then I decided that I needed to call it a night. Bad things happen when I sew when I’m tired, so I really try not to do it.  I should have given the fabrics a quick press before I cut, but I was being lazy.  I ‘ll do that once I have the linings attached to the outer fabric and then I’ll press the rest of the pieces too.  I always hesitate to iron swimsuiting, but this really needs it.   Since swimwear is so slippery (or slippy as is said where I’m from in PA), I keep it all stored in a shopping bag…as a result it is all wrinkly when I pull it out.  Sorry readers…I’ll iron first next time!

Hopefully I’ll get a little more time tomorrow night to work on it.

This entry was posted in Gifts, Kwik Sew, What not to do!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stripey Bikini In Process!

  1. I made it!! says:

    Thanks for the lesson! Looking forward to seeing more! I understand “call it a night” VERY much. Last night I stared and positioned and stared again at my coat fasteners for about an hour, then I packed it all up! I was just too scared to go any farther!

  2. Laura H. says:

    Looking forward to seeing how you progress on this project – a bathing suit may be on my sewing list this year – something I’ve not successfully done before!

Leave a Reply

