Ol’ Stripey!

IMG_00000472

Stripey and me are getting to become good friends!  I had a little bit of time to work on it and got the bikini pieces done.  This suit is really pretty easy and quick to sew.  They are almost complete, I just need to fold over the bottom to create the casing and slip the tie through. I also need to give the tie part a quick press and do some minor hand stitching to close up the little gap where the tie part attaches to the cup part.

I’m somewhat unhappy with them because I forgot to switch to the next bigger size needle while sewing the elastic on the sides.  I meant to do that and even thought about it before sewing, but I was texting a friend and just got distracted.  As a result, where I did the smaller zig zag to close up the elastic, there are a couple of almost skipped stitches.  They’re not skipped, so I’m okay with the integrity of the stitching, it just looks a little odd in a few spots. However, it’s passing the stand a few feet away and look at it test, so it’s staying (unless I feel super ambitious tomorrow).  Oh well, nothing is perfect.

Also, when I looked at the instructions, I had a pleasant surprise!

IMG_00000469

Those numbers that I wrote on the side there are the settings that work best on my machine for those steps!  I do try to write in what I use on a pattern because I hate having to try to figure out which size is best…when I KNOW I’ve already done it once!  🙂

I didn’t wake up this morning until 7 minutes before I was supposed to be out the door, so it’s an early night for me tonight!

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in Gifts, Kwik Sew, What not to do!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ol’ Stripey!

  1. I made it!! says:

    Pah! I typed a reply and “poof” it just disappeared! It will probably show up twice now! I was going to say… I never thought to write notes on the instructions! Learn something new everyday!

Leave a Reply

