Vogue 1387 Muslin

I made my muslin today!  I was debating about even making one, but I really didn’t know how this shirt would fit, so thought it was wise to take the time.

IMG_4375IMG_4376

I used this icky polyester that I bought from the local goodwill. This fabric actually feels like you’re wearing a trashbag and there was no way that I would ever make a real garment out of this, and it has a relatively soft hand, so it seemed pretty good for this purpose.   The only adjustments I made in this was to lengthen the front and back by an inch.  It’s actually a fairly long top, which pleased me because I hate it when work shirts constantly pull out of my pants forcing me to retuck them all day long.

The only other change I plan to make is to lengthen the sleeves by about a half an inch.  Other than that, I’m calling this one good to go.  It is far from a fitted top, but I really don’t like my work clothes to be too fitted anyway.  The intersection where the collar and the band meet is a critical area and I’m going to have to super precise in this area to get it to look right.  I also didn’t like how they had you apply the bands and I need to investigate other methods. I might just put the band pattern piece on the front pattern piece and cut it as one.  It seems like I have a Jalie top that is like that. Overall, I am really happy with how this muslin turned out.  I hope to cut out the real fabric tomorrow.

Happy sewing!

This entry was posted in RTW Fast, Vogue. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vogue 1387 Muslin

  1. I made it!! says:

    Hope everything goes well for you! I’m looking forward to seeing the finished shirt!

  2. helen says:

    looks an interesting style around the front shoulders. Looking forward to the finished article.

    • I love the front shoulder detail! It’s an area where I’m going to have to be really cautious b/c on the muslin they ended up a bit uneven. The strip that they call “binding” is really more like an inset. I’m considering interfacing it to make it a little easier to work with, but it’s cut on the bias…so maybe I should just be careful.

Leave a Reply

