A tale of two muslins

 

First up is Burda 6909.  This is exactly as made last night, so it’s a 10 at shoulders/bust 12 at waist and 14 at hips.

IMG_4457 IMG_4458

The shoulders and sleeves are too tight, but the waist sits where it’s supposed to.  the neckline has a little bit of gapping that makes me nervous.

Next up is KS 2849. The KS is a size small at shoulders and bust and waist, and a medium at hips.

IMG_4461IMG_4462

 

I’m currently torn between the two…the Burda fits more closely than the KS….in turn, the KS is more comfortable.  Both need more adjustments.  If I make the burda, the shoulders and sleeves both need widened and I’m kind of worried about a little gapping at the neck.  I’m not sure if it’s because there’s a real problem, or if the problem was caused by the shoulders being too small. I also need about 1/2 inch more in the sleeves.  If I go with the burda, I’m going to make another full muslin in just a 12 top, 14 hips and see how that fits.

On the KS, the armholes need to be raised – maybe about half an inch.  I also screwed up on my side panels in either the tracing or the lengthening additions I made.  This pattern came with two shorten/lengthen lines, so I added one inch at the top one and 1/2 inch at the bottom one.  I added an inch each at each line on the sleeves for a total of two inches. Somehow, both of my side panels are too short by about a half an inch.  I really enjoyed sewing the KS because it came with 1/4 seam allowances and that made it much easier to manage the princess seams.  If I sew the KS, I don’t need another muslin.  One thing that I do really like about the KS is the little elbow dart in the sleeves.  That’s a nice feature. Neither of these patterns have cuffs or vents at the sleeves and I really like that.  I think it lends a softer quality to the shirts.  The waist on the KS shows that it’s below where it should be, but I don’t think I’m going to worry about that.   Overall the shirt is comfortable.

I never noticed until looking at these pictures how much more my right shoulder slants down…wow.   I guess that comes from carrying the purse!

I think I’m going to make a cup of tea and read reviews…I wanted to track down to see if the Burda is a reissue from some old pattern or maybe a magazine pattern.  There’s gotta be some reviews out there somewhere!

This entry was posted in Burda, Kwik Sew, RTW Fast, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

