A Sneak Peak-Burda 7188

Maybe I’ll be able to get Burda 7188 done tomorrow night!  Here’s a sneak peak.

IMG_20140325_194252

The body of the shirt is done…tonight I was working on putting the sleeves together by doing the continuous bias plackets, sleeve seam, and I pinned the cuffs pinned on.  I worked on it for about an hour and half tonight, but the trickiest part was the plackets.  I spent an hour or so last night trying to get them on and stopped because I was just too frustrated to continue.   I was even using my trusty Reader’s Digest Guide to Sewing (RDGS) and I couldn’t get it to sew on without puckers.  After work today, I did some internet research and found this youtube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYWQo3JoGJU and it helped immensely!  I think most of my problems were caused because I was using a placket that was cut on the straight of grain and not the bias.  The RDGS also didn’t tell me to do the pivot thing while stitching it on.

The color is actually twice dyed, once in RIT pearl gray, and once in Dharma acid dye in silver gray.  Overall, I did tone it down a little bit, although I still feel it’s a touch bright.  I’m calling it good enough though.  The next time I’m dyeing a piece of fabric, I need to cut it down to just the length I need before dyeing just to make it a little more manageable.

I have to do the rest of the cuffs, sleeve insertion, buttons and hem.  It sounds so simple! 🙂  Actually, I think the rest of it will be pretty easy.  Sleeve insertion is always a little tricky, but I bought one of Cynthia Guffey’s DVDs on setting in sleeves at the last sewing expo and her techniques are super helpful.  I would love to buy every single DVD she’s ever made.

I’m not sure what the next project will be…it might actually be another one of these.  I really liked how the muslin fit me and I hope this one fits just as well.

I will leave you with a pic of my painted purse!!  I worked on for a couple of hours over the weekend.  I combined the Angelus leather paints in the shades of squadron and mist until I was happy…then painted!  It took two coats to cover it nicely.

Here’s the before and after.

IMG_20140319_205850   IMG_20140322_221537

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Burda, Dressing Your Truth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Sneak Peak-Burda 7188

  1. I made it!! says:

    I love it when I can find a youtube or something so I can watch how it is done. It is lots better than reading about it! The purse looks great in that colour!

  2. I love what you did with the purse! It looks so much more distinctive after you painted it. You’ve reminded me of some fabric I was thinking of dying and I think I’ll give it a go!

Leave a Reply

