Unscrewing My Screw-up — Double Welt Pockets

I recently sewed a pair of Sewaholic Thurlows (my favorite pant pattern ever!).  While working on the back pockets, I screwed it up by cutting the whole way along the marked line.   You’re supposed to cut until you’re about 1/2 inch from the end or so, but I was being a bonehead and cut the whole way across.   Once I realized that I had screwed up, I contemplated what to do.  I didn’t have enough fabric to cut another back piece, so I had to work with what I had.  I figured I had two options. Option 1. was to extend the pocket a bit, doing the same for both sides of course.  This would have entailed pulling off the sewn on welts and cutting news ones slightly longer.  That wasn’t a bad plan, but I didn’t know if a longer pocket would look ok.  Option 2. was to try to sew up my mistake.  This is the option I went with figuring if it didn’t work, then I could try option 2.

First, I butted the cut area together and steamed fusible interfacing on it.  I used fusible tricot because it’s what I have in my stash that behaves the best.  I just wanted something to hold the cut together.

Once I had that ironed over my blunder, I VERY CAREFULLY zigzagged over the cut ends and did several zigazgs back and forth.  I did this by positioning it right side up under the machine foot and then holding the welts out of the way while I stitched.

Here’s a pic from the back and front.

IMG_20140414_193555 IMG_20140414_193540

I then continued on with the construction as normal.  My stitched up area was all inside the corner when it was complete….I thought there might be a chance that a little would peak out, but it was ok.  Had any been sticking out, I had decided that no one should be looking at my butt that closely to see anyway.   Just to ensure that it doesn’t cause any problems in the future, I did topstitch around the entire top of rectangle of the welt.  Here’s the finished pockets.

IMG_20140414_201232

Success!!!!  They actually might be the best welt pockets I’ve ever made!

To remind myself not to do that moronic mistake next time, I put a note in the pattern directions.

IMG_20140414_194106

This will make me smile every time I see it in the future!

Happy Sewing!!

 

This entry was posted in How to fix a screw up, Sewaholic, What not to do! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unscrewing My Screw-up — Double Welt Pockets

  1. I made it!! says:

    Well I looked at the butt of your pants very, very closely and you did an excellent job patching up!

Leave a Reply

