Here and there…

Ok, I’m going to try to tie up some of these loose ends while my bread is going through it’s first rise.    That means fast typing!  🙂

For the Liebster – I’m absolutely honored that “Nice Dress! Thanks I made it!!” nominated me.  I’m going to ignore the rules and just answer the questions (Rebel right here!!!).  I always love to read these things by other people, so here we go…

1. What is your favourite snack?

CHEESE!!!!  In any shape, style, or form. I have yet to meet a cheese that I don’t like! If there’s pepperoni nearby, I’m even happier.

2. What is your favourite movie?

This is a tough one, I don’t really watch a lot of movies, and I rarely watch a movie over again.  One that has been watched several times is The English Patient.  I think I even bought it on videocassette eons ago, but I haven’t seen it lately.  Another all time favorite Christmas movie is Elf.  That one cracks me up every time I watch it.

3. Do you have pets?

Sure do!  They’re my best buddies.  Emmy Lou and Camy were adopted from the shelter about 5 years ago and are my partners in crime.  They can be spotted in my tour of the sewing room post here: https://fabricthreadclothes.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/the-valentine-kwik-sew-3036-and-a-tour/  They usually hang out wherever I am.

4. How long have you been blogging

Only a few months really.  I started it because I joined the RTW fast with Goodbye Valentino.  Prior to that, I didn’t have a blog but I was and continue to be a reviewer on Pattern Review.   You can find me on there as “immelu.”

5.  What is your favourite project that you are most proud of?

Wow, that is a tough one!! I’m proud of them all, even the failures.   I would have to say that my favorites, and most often worn are the bras from this pattern.  http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/pattern/83065  I think it’s an awesome pattern and my bras are soooo superior to what I can buy.  I love that when I want a new one all I have to do is pull out the pattern and get to it.

6.  What is your least favourite project and why?

My least favorite is this Kwik Sew shirt here.  http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/pattern/93958  I actually haven’t worn it yet because I just don’t like the fabric that much.  It’s one of those pieces of fabric that was the right price, and going into it, I knew there was a chance I wouldn’t wear it that much.   Despite that, I’m glad I made it because now I know that the pattern is a winner.  There have probably been other least favorites, but I try not to dwell on them.  🙂

7.  Do you have any formal training in your craft?

Not really.  I began sewing because a coworker gave me a sewing machine.  It sat on the floor of a closet because I was afraid (silly, huh?). About a year later, my mom bought me a green corduroy jacket from LL Bean and I loved the color, but when it came, it was all boxy without any waist shaping and I knew it shouldn’t be that hard to take it on the sides.  I enrolled in an evening class through my county’s extension office.  It was for one evening a week for 6 or 8 weeks.  We made a skirt!  I used a burda suit pattern.  My skirt didn’t quite fit at the waist, but it was a good learning experience.   I have taken some craftsy classes here and there, but honestly, my attention span isn’t really good enough to do a whole one.  I bought the one about sewing the Islander Jacket, but haven’t gotten too far into it yet.  I don’t know when I’ll get back to it.  I have attended numerous classes at sewing expos.  My favorite instructor at those is Cynthia Guffey.

8.  Do you have your own craft room?

Yes, the tour is at the link above with the dogs.

9.  How do you get your ideas?

I usually start by looking at my wardrobe and deciding what I need.  After that, the hunt for the perfect pattern and fabric begins.

10. Does your partner support you in your ideas?

Absolutely! My husband’s thing is computer games.  If I’m playing in the sewing room, you can bet he’s likely playing a game in his mancave.  Since the more I sew, the less I interrupt him, he supports me in everything I do sewing-wise! 🙂

11.  Where do you see yourself in ten years?

Who knows…I never would have seen myself here 10 years ago, so time will tell.

 

Other odds and ends…

For the FBA question, I’m going to put that on hold for now. I’m waiting on feedback from my sister on how the dress fits.  I had never done an FBA before.  It would have been easier on a more straight forward dress pattern, but Vogue 1223 is the one she really liked.  We’re using really nice fabric too….if it ever gets here.  It’s coming from one of the vendors on Thunderlily.    I told her that this dress is going to be her b-day present, and if it’s that stressful, her Christmas present too.  🙂

The bra is the bravo bra 2 from Bravo Bella Bras.  http://bravobellabras.com/shopping/8-bravo-bra-2.html.  This is for my sister as well.  I’ve made her several bras out of my KS 2101 and she loves those.  But I know that someday, she’s going to want one that offers more support.  I was going to make her a real one without sending the test home, but I’ve re-thought that one.  I’m going to finish my test today, then I’ll mail that home and see what she thinks before I make a real one.

BTW, the bread is in the oven now!

Happy Sewing!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here and there…

  1. I made it!! says:

    Great getting to know you! Isn’t it great when husbands can keep busy and leave us to our sewing!

Leave a Reply

