You take the good…you take the bad…

Hello fellow sewistas!

I’ve been somewhat missing lately, but there just hasn’t been too much going on on the sewing front.  I’ve been waiting for the fabric to come for my sister’s dress, Vogue 1223,  blogged a bit here:  https://fabricthreadclothes.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/a-preview-of-upcoming-attactions/.  And guess what??? It FINALLY came today!!! And guess what else??? THEY SENT THE WRONG FABRIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   Ugh, I’m so disappointed.  I have to call them about it first thing tomorrow.  I’m going to see if they can overnight me the right stuff…time is running out!  The wedding she’s going to is on June 7, and I need that fabric!   I did get the muslin back from her with her alterations pinned on it.  I worked on the pattern a little more making her adjustments, and I think it’s going to be ok.  I think for the outer layer of fabric, I’m going to cut it just a little bigger and drape it on more or less.  If there is any excess (or too little), I think I should be easily able to disguise it in the pleats.

Other than that, I did make a muslin of the top from McCalls 6755.  It turned out okay, but I just wasn’t feeling my fabric choice, so I put it aside for now.

Wish me luck with the fabric store tomorrow!!!   They’re located in the NYC Garment District and calling them is a blast.  I had to call them first to check on when the order was going to ship.  I used to life in NYC for awhile (pre-sewing, so I missed out on the joys of the garment district!) and I had forgotten about the different cadence of speech.  They sounded fast and forceful to my midwestern trained ears!  But I got back in the swing of it pretty quickly. 🙂

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You take the good…you take the bad…

  1. I made it!! says:

    Good luck! It can only get better from here!

Leave a Reply

