Change in plans…

Change is the only constant and I do believe that to be true!  My sister really wanted Vogue 1223, but the fabric that we received wasn’t the right stuff.  I was able to get in touch with the seller in NYC, but they were out of what we had ordered.  While relaying all the drama to my sister, she did a total change and asked if I could just make a her a basic dress if I’d be  able to get it done faster.  Well, of course!  LOL.  I scouted for some local fabric on Friday night and spotted this lovely faux dupioni at Joanns.  Here is the almost finished product!

IMG_20140519_202625IMG_20140519_202644

I LOVE IT!!!!  The dress just needs to be hemmed and then I want to do some little thread loops at the waist for a belt.   I have some pink sweater knit that I’m going turn into a short cardi tomorrow night.  I think it’s going to be adorable.  🙂  I haven’t sewn a dress in forever, so it was fun doing this one.  I used a burda pattern for the top and stole the skirt from a mccalls pattern.  She’s planning to wear it with a black belt and black shoes, but I wouldn’t be surprised if she goes with a pink once she sees it.   The top is just a standard one with bust darts and waist darts.  The skirt is dart free.  It was a simple dress to put together, but I did have to really think through how to do the invisible zipper.   It’s good to use the brain though!!!

 

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in Burda, Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Change in plans…

  1. Rebecca says:

    Really pretty dress! I love the floral print!

Leave a Reply

