Annoyed

I went down to the sewing room tonight after dinner without a real goal in mind.  I was debating about making up the green burda blouse that’s in the near term plans, but then I decided to cut out another pair of the cropped pants like the blue ones.  (Sorry, I don’t have pics of them on me yet.)  I have this really, really nice black linen that I picked up at a super sale at Hancocks last fall.  On the bolt, the linen felt kind of scratchy and coated in something to keep it stiff.  After a couple washes, the coating is gone, and it’s just a really nice heavier weight linen. More than likely, it’s a linen blend, but I’m not going to sweat the details.  Ha ha.  That sentence is a total lie because the details can drive me crazy sometimes.  So, anyway, I decided to cut the pants out of the black linen, adding in a couple  of adjustments that I wanted to make.  Well, wouldn’t you know it..I went and forgot one. Darn!  I wanted to try a fisheye dart adjustment on the back of the pant leg to see if it would hang better and I completely forgot until it was all cut out. That’s why I shouldn’t cut out when I’m tired. Here’s a picture of the adjustment in case you haven’t heard of it before.  It’s designed to compensate for a”hyperextended calf.”  Ha.

IMG_20140606_204739

I snapped that picture from this book:  IMG_20140606_204810

 

My mother in law used to do sewing for customers years ago and she gave me a lot of books, fabric and even my dress form a year or two ago.  Yes, she IS awesome. 🙂  Anyway, I think this is one of the books she gave me.  What I really like about this book is that it takes an alteration, and then gives you three methods to get it done.  I like to know my options!  🙂

While still annoyed, I think I need to get over it and move one.   Sigh…moving on.

Tomorrow I plan to sew these up really quickly.  I bet they’ll take a couple hours.  Here’s a shot of some pretty fabric on the table.  The top is blue gauze, then blue linen, then the black linen that I cut up tonight.

IMG_20140606_202053

 

I’m not sure what I’m going to do with either of the blues just yet, but I think they’ll be behind the green top.  Maybe if the pants go quickly and successfully tomorrow, I’ll be able to get the top done too.   Here’s the green fabric….it’s really not as obnoxious as it looks in the picture.

 

IMG_20140530_195814

 

I was going to make another one of these:

IMG_20140530_195717

 

and I was thinking about leaving off the center front gathers.  I like my bias bound neckline, so I’ll do that again, but I kind of just want a really basic top.  I’m glad I don’t need to make that decision now.  My brain is about done in for the evening.

I’ll leave you with a pic of an awesome food find:

IMG_20140605_180835

These are rosemary and black pepper almonds and I love to snack on these.  🙂  If you like savory snacks, this is a great one to try.  🙂

Happy sewing!

 

This entry was posted in Burda, The Basics, Thoughts, What not to do!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Annoyed

  1. I made it!! says:

    Good luck with your sewing tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

