Tools of the Trade

I had time to work on the green shirt today!!!   I managed to get it cut out and the back sewn together.  Not bad for all the more time I had.

The back slit is done!  In my opinion, this and sewing the neck binding on are the two hardest parts of this top to get right, for me anyway.  I used to just eyeball back slits, but wasn’t really happy with how they turned out (shocking, eh?), so then I started marking the bottom with chalk.  Slightly better, but still not perfect.  Now, I mark the entire stitching line with a frixion pen. These pens are removed with heat from the iron.  I always do a test on a scrap, but I’ve never had a problem yet with them coming completely out.   I love these pens and think every sewing room should have one or two or three.  I think I have one in black, blue and pink.  I would really like one in a silver or white in order to show up on black fabric, but I’ve never seen one in those colors.

IMG_20140608_205116

If you look closely at the bottom of the rectangle, you can see that I first marked it a little too high.  Of course, I didn’t realize this until I was halfway down that first side, so I just extended it a bit and it turned out okay.   This pic was taken before I ironed it, of course.

Just for fun, here’s the inside:

IMG_20140608_205251

I wanted to use french seams, but I wasn’t sure how to neatly make the transition between the seam and the slit.  I looked it up on google and found a tip from Susan Khalje’s Bridal Couture (I even own the book!).  She says to just make a little cut below the slit.  I had thought about that but wasn’t sure if it was okay or not.  But…if it’s good enough for Susan Khalje, it’s definitely good enough for me, so that’s what I did!

Hopefully I’ll have more time to work on this tomorrow night. This fabric is pretty slippery and it definitely requires me to be on my game, so I hope I’m not too tired after work.

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in Burda, Tools of the Trade. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

