Kwik Sew 4085

Kwik Sew 4085 is a tunic that has a “peplum” with the flaps that overlap forming an uneven hem.  My sister saw this pattern in her facebook feed and wanted it.  I told her that I’d make it for her as a belated Christmas present.  She picked out the perfect fabric, but before cutting into the good stuff, I wanted to make a muslin so the final version can be perfect.  I stopped in at Needle Nook Fabrics here in Wichita to pick out some fun muslin fabric for her.  This fabric has little circles with the pink kind of splattered on it.  It is sooooo my sister.    Here’s the muslin:

 

IMG_1379IMG_1380

 

and on me:

IMG_1385 IMG_1384IMG_1383

 

I think it’s adorable and it is soooooo her.  She’ll probably wear it with skinny black leggings and boots, I imagine.  I’m curious to see what she says about this fit.  This is a medium with a FBA and an extra inch of length added.  I think the addition of the length makes it so a cami is necessary.  I did sew the back flaps on with the longer one overlapping because that’s what she wanted.  in the front, the shorter one is on top.

The instructions were okay.  This s a new Kwik Sew and it has 5/8 inch seam allowances.  On the neck, they have you stitch clear elastic, then turn it under to form a hem.  Depending on what she says, I may shorten that elastic for the final version.  I like the length of the peplum.  I’m about 5’6″ for reference.

Anyway, we’ll see what she says.  I have just enough of this fabric leftover to make her a quick pair of panties, so I was going to drop those in the box too.  My goal is to have the box ready to go by Monday!

This entry was posted in Gifts, Kwik Sew. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kwik Sew 4085

  1. Amanda says:

    It looks great! I love the fitted style at the waist. And the dropped hem. 💝

  2. Looks good! I am sure you will make your deadline!

Leave a Reply

