Not a whole lot of sewing going on…

So about a year ago when I started this blog, I was contemplating what types of clothes to make since I was doing the RTW fast.  Someone mentioned Dressing Your Truth as a place to start.  For those unfamiliar, DYT basically matches your clothing to your energy type.  There are 4 primary energy types….so initially, I thought I was a 2…the soft woman.  That didn’t fit though, so I thought I was a 4, the stunning woman (think audrey hepburn).  That didn’t really fit either.  Then one recent night,  I was watching a DYT video and a type 3 was talking and I felt like I was watching myself and the light bulb finally came on.  I am a type three.  I know, I know…you say, how can you be sure??  Well yeah, given my history, I could see how you’d say that.  But, the 3 clothes sing to me!  Here’s someone’s pinterest that is for a type 3, so you can get an idea.  https://www.pinterest.com/lgodess/dressing-your-truth-dyt3/

I was thinking about this print in my house and how I loved it when I first saw it and had to have it.  Seriously, I RARELY have to have anything….That has type 3-ness written all over it. (note:  I made the shirt and pants in that pic.  I always loved the shirt, it’s a jalie pattern, but I made the hips too small and it constantly rode up! )

IMG_1190

So, yet again, I’ve switched courses…literally and figuratively.  I haven’t watched the whole type 3 course yet, but in my true to nature swift self, I went out and bought a bunch of new clothes today.  I was concentrating on some basics like pants, jackets for work and some tops.  I went to consignment stores around town and had a blast.  It was far more fun than shopping at the mall.  I found some great things….I’m sure they’ll be popping up here and there.

So, what does this have to do with sewing?  Well, it will influence what I sew….for example, I recently made the muslin of the joyful top.  The flounce on that is not really a type three look, so I doubt I’ll make one for me.  I was considering making one for my sister out of leftover fabric from her floral top.  I did recently complete a pair of yoga pants in a type three color.  I don’t have any pictures yet.  I used Peggy Sagers yoga pant pattern. This was my second time using this pattern and I should really do a review of it.  (Clearly it passes, if I made it again!) .

I also did muslin up the kwik sew jacket.  I have pictures of that….

IMG_1404IMG_1405 IMG_1406

And there’s Emmy Lou photo bombing!  This test is a small and it’s really a little too small.  I traced off the medium, but haven’t made it up yet.  I’m not sure I want this style of jacket, so I put the whole thing away for now.   I bought several jackets today, so I may move that one to the backburner for a little while.

I’m not sure what I’m going to sew next..but whatever it is will be in the right colors!

Happy sewing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not a whole lot of sewing going on…

  1. Good luck to you! Sounds like you might have lots of sewing (or shopping) in your future! I do love your blue print shirt. It looks goodin you!

Leave a Reply

