Kwik Sew 3179 and Butterick 4989

Awhile ago, I made Kwik Sew 3179 in a cream for me.    Here’s a link to the PR review.  http://sewing.patternreview.com/review/pattern/88279.   I liked the top, but I never really work it.  I didn’t have a tank for under it and it was always just a little awkward.  The sleeves were just a little too frilly for me.   So, I did what any reasonable person would do…I gave it to my sister! She LOVED the top…but didn’t like the color.  I told her that if she sent it back to me, I’d try to dye it. Well, she did, and the dye just totally made a mess.  It didn’t really take except for around the armpits where deodorant had gotten in the fabric.  The top went in the trash at that point.

I called her with the bad news, but gave her the good news that I could make another for her!  She wanted it to be either light purple or gray, so I picked this lavendar.  It’s crepe back satin from Hancocks.

IMG_1570 IMG_20150314_160136

It’s such a pretty top!  I used a rolled hem from my serger to finish it. I think this top is one of those where you tend to get a lot of bang for your buck.  The pattern had FIVE steps, but looks great!  The serger is key though…I wouldn’t want to narrow hem that whole top!  My hems turned out a little ruffly which I don’t really like, but I think she’ll like it.  I tried to press them out, but I couldn’t get them all gone. I see on the last one that my hems weren’t ripply like that so I must have had some setting a little off today.

I also made her a little cami to go under it.  I used Butterick 4989.  Ultimately it turned out ok, but I made a size medium and it was HUGE.  I took it in on the sides and left the allowances there just in case she needs to let it out, but I was quite surprised by that.  I also didn’t really like how they had you narrow hem the top.  I really think it would have been easier and neater to use a facing.  The whole time I was wishing that I had made my favorite Kwik Sew cami.

IMG_1571IMG_1565IMG_1566

And here is the blouse with the cami. Pretty!

IMG_1569

They’ll go out in the mail on monday.

On to me.  I have a t shirt cut out that just needs to be sewn up and I’ve been embracing the type 3 look from Dressing Your Truth.  If you want to see what I’ve been wearing, there’s a page at the top that’s called DYT Type 3 Outfits.  I started it so I could collect what I’m wearing and have my clothes in one spot so I can get other ladies from the type 3 facebook page to help me mix and match (Take the necklace from 2nd pic row three, and add the jacket from 1st picture row 4 with the top on row 1, pic 3!! ).  I picked up a pile of fabric from Needle Nook Fabric yesterday to help me expand the wardrobe a bit….here’s what I have to work with.  I have very, very little things in the correct shades in my stash.

IMG_20150314_114853

The greenish on top and the print towards the bottom are going to be simple tanks.  There’s a mccall pattern with princess seams that I’ve been eyeing up.  I want to use one of the ITYs to make this New Look top, view B, the tan-ish tank. I plan to modify the gathers under the bust and make the back plain.  I think those should be simple adjustments.

IMG_20150314_203553

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in Butterick, Kwik Sew. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kwik Sew 3179 and Butterick 4989

  1. jay says:

    I rather like the ripply edge.

  2. Yeah, that top is just beautiful and the wavy edge is so pretty!

  3. I’m glad the ripply edge looks good! I did iron out as much as I could and it’s still there, so hopefully my sister will be of the same mind! Actually on that top, I’ve gotta tell her that no one is allowed to look at the edge too closely…or she just needs to stay in constant motion! This is a great little sleeper of a pattern, and I know she’s going to look gorgeous in that top. 🙂

  4. Your New Look pattern is very lovely. That twist in the top is quite the style nowadays.

Leave a Reply

