Burda 7746

I made them for real this time!!!  Yeah!!!!  I was so tired of making muslins…  So I’m moderately happy with how these turned out.  Here are the pics.

IMG_1765 IMG_1764 IMG_1762

Overall, the front view is good, the side view  has extended calf drag lines and the back has a few wrinkles. Pants can be so tricky! This fabric is stretch gabardine from Needle Nook Fabrics, and they look nicer than I thought they would.  In fact, I made these first because I figured if I didn’t like how they looked, I’d have time to swap them out with something else, but I really like them! I’m willing to live with a few drag lines.  Although I might try scooping the butt just a tiny bit more…if I feel like it.  For alterations, I included all the ones I muslined, plus I let out the back seams from just above the knee for a little additional calf width and I also scooped the front crotch a bit to get rid of some extra fabric. These pants aren’t hard to sew.  My other pant fabric is a bengeline that I found for $5 yard on the Joann’s red tag clearance row.  I’ve never sewn with it before, and figured for that price, it was worth a try.  I was debating trying this pattern again, or switching to either the Style Arc Freebie (maybe the Barb??) or the Simplicity one by Mimi G – #1283.

I think I’m going to continue on with the pants journey…I need more in my wardrobe, and really, if I leave the pockets off, they sew up relatively quickly.

I’m going to go hunt down pattern reviews and see if anyone has made that Mimi G yet.

Before I go…here’s my wardrobe update….I swapped out the Burda top with the New Look that I meant to include, but forgot about.  I’ll probably add 3/4 length sleeves to it.   I don’t really want a lot of tanks in my wardrobe.  I’m even currently debating about the Mccalls tank that I’ve included.  I do only have a yard of the fabric though, so whatever I do, that will be the limitation.

Storyboard 4-15-15

This entry was posted in Burda, Wardrobe Contest. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Burda 7746

  1. Nakisha says:

    The McCall’s top is short. And I have a short torso! FYI

    I LOVE THE PANTS!!!!! I think they turned out really well and I love the color!

  2. Thanks Nakisha! I have just a bit of this fabric left and was thinking about trying to squeeze a skirt out of it. It’s just nice stuff and it sewed up so well. It was from Needle Nook Fabrics here in Wichita and I think it was listed as a stretch gabardine.

    I think the Mimi G may be just a little too flared for what I’m after. People seem to really like the Barb, so that may be the next one up…although I’m torn about remaking this Burda!! Maybe I’ll wear them to work tomorrow and see what I think. 🙂

  3. I love the colour of your pants and you have a really nice fit there! I think you are well on your way to finishing your goals!

  4. thecaroler says:

    The pants look really nice, especially the front. One of the nice things is now you have a general idea of what changes you need for yourself, so less muslins in the future at least as far as pants are concerned. As an aside, I think you may need a bit more length in the horizontal part of the back seam instead of just scooping if you ever remake it. If it were me, I would use the Burda again when using the bengaline because if you’re not sure about the fabric, at least you can be confident with the pattern, though the Style Arc Barb would be nice as well.

    • Thanks Thecaroler! I did decide last night that I’m going to use this pattern for the brown bengaline. I’m pretty familiar with it now and I thought the exact same thing..I know how the pattern behaves and it would be crazy to add in another variable! I didn’t get them cut out tonight, but hopefully tomorrow night. I’ll have to look in my books to see how to make that adjustment! Moving forward one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

