McCalls 7198 – Test Shorts

We have huge storms rolling though Kansas this evening, so I had some time to spend in the sewing room.  I picked this pattern up over the weekend and wanted to try it out so I looked in the scraps and found some old fleece.

This is a size 14.  I didn’t measure my hips, but they’re usually between 38 and 39 inches.  What intrigued me about this pattern is the fact that FOR ONCE, the ease in it is actually NEGATIVE!!!!!  A 14 has finished measurments of 36.5, I think.   GO MCCALLS!!!!!!!!  Finally!!!!!!!!  I’ve been sewing for 8 or 9 years, and this is the first pant pattern from them that I’ve seen with negative ease, designed to get you the look on the cover.

Here’s the cover, by the way.

IMG_20150706_210958

Look at that fitted look on the model!

Okay, so here’s the look on me…  Please excuse any goofy faces.  🙂  I was concentrating!

IMG_20150706_210638 IMG_20150706_210649 IMG_20150706_210658

Soooo, they actually sew up like the package says they will!!!!!  YEAH!!!!!  I made these without any adjustments, but if I were going to change things (and I will), I’d lower the front a bit and raise the center back an inch an a half or so tapering to nothing at the sides.  But…I can’t complain about the pattern because these are both standard adjustments for me.  In the picture, these are unhemmed and I do not have the elastic in.

I may finish these, I may not.  I really just wanted to test the ease and I’m thrilled to say that McCalls got it right!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in McCalls, Muslin. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to McCalls 7198 – Test Shorts

  1. Always nice to test a pattern out first. The fit looks great. Looks like you have your TNT shorts pattern now!

Leave a Reply

