Jalie 2788 and Kwik Sew 2908

This week, I’ve been sewing things for me!  Yeah!  I finished Jalie 2788:

IMG_20150717_193241IMG_20150718_135611 IMG_20150717_185302

This is an older pattern that I’ve had in the stash for several years.  I’ve made it several times in the past, even in a dress version.  I had this busy print from Needle Nook Fabrics and thought the pattern would be perfect for it!   Can I just say that I LOVE this pattern?!  On this version, I finally got the shoulders to fit right.  My shoulders are just a little broader than most patterns, so when I was cutting this out, I thought I’d actually take the time to do it right, rather than just winging it.  A few years ago, I took a sewing class at a local fabric shop and we did comprehensive measurements, so I pulled out my old sheet and found my shoulder length was 4.5 inches.  The Jalie pattern was just at about 4″ so I added on that half in…and it’s perfect!  LOL.  Such a simple alteration, but I really don’t often take the time to make it.  I will do better in the future!  This top will go into the work rotation and will get worn under suits and cardigans.  It’s so busy that I doubt i’d wear it on it’s own…but you never know.

While cutting out that top, I decided to  make up a couple pairs of underwear.  I used my trusty Kwik Sew 2908:

IMG_20150718_132514IMG_20150718_132324 IMG_20150718_132459

I think this is the view from the bottom right of the pattern.  I didn’t do the lace accents this time. I love having an underwear pattern that I can use over and over like this.

Next up is going to be Pamela’s Patterns Magic Pencil Skirt!  There are about 20 reviews of this skirt pattern, designed for a stretch woven, on PR and generally, they all say it’s pretty awesome. I have it cut out and plan to finish it up today.  I’m sooo excited.  If it works out, I plan to make a bunch for in my wardrobe!  🙂

The first one up is going to be made from leftovers of the stretch gabardine used for these pants:

IMG_1765

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in Jalie, Kwik Sew, lingerie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

