Jalie 2921 and a little Branching Out

I made up a version of Jalie 2921 in the last week or so…here’s the finished picture.

11889521_10207600023377888_8797951435749068236_n

This crazy fabric was from Needle Nooks, and I even debated finishing it because I just wasn’t in love with the fabric.  But…I decided to finish it and wear it just to see what I think and it’s AWESOME!  🙂  I love the energy in that print.  In this picture, I had just turned the scarf ties inside because I didn’t want to wear it out and flopping around.  This top fits GREAT…It’s a T going to a U at the hips, and I had to extend the shoulders.  I think I finally have my fit down with Jalie patterns.  I think I’ve made 2 or 3 versions of this top in the past and I’m sure I’ll make it again!

And, I have news!!!  My stepson and his girlfriend are expecting a baby due in December or January!  Of course, one of the first things I did was start to research sewing for babies!  We all know that I love Kwik Sew, so I bought the Sewing for Baby book.

IMG_20150824_203724

It is a fantastic book, and I made a little sleeper from it the other night.

IMG_20150825_210951

The sleeper took hardly any time to sew, maybe an hr and a half.  I still need to add snaps, but I want to buy some from snapsource this weekend.  I checked out the selection at Hancocks, and just wasn’t that impressed.  I did a search in the forums at PR and overwhelmingly, people seem to like snapsource.  I’ll try it out and report back! 🙂

Anyway, this sleeper is the smallest size and I figured I’d only make 2 or so in that size.  It’s tiny and adorable.  🙂  The baby will live in South Dakota, so it’s going to need warm things.  I have a whole list of things that I want to make for it (not sure if it’s a boy or girl yet), so you’ll see those pop up.  I have some flannel and terry cloth in the dryer  finishing up right now.  I plan to make some blankets and burpcloths from those.   It’s a lot of fun and I’m excited:)  I’ve never wanted to have my own kids, but grandkids are a totally different story!!!  🙂   The sewing possibilities are endless and pretty easy!!

Happy Sewing

This entry was posted in Baby!, Jalie. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jalie 2921 and a little Branching Out

  1. STH says:

    I love the blouse! I think you can get away with wilder prints if they’re in darker earth tones–they still come across as grown-up rather than goofy. 😉 Congrats on the new baby! Lots of fun new sewing challenges there!

    • Thanks for the compliments on the shirt. That one was a surprise the whole way around because I REALLY disliked it as I was sewing it up.

      The baby will be loads of fun!! I just finished two double sided flannel blankets in cute gender neutral baby prints! 🙂

  2. Nakisha says:

    Aww! Congratulations!!!!

    That top is really nice. Looks great on you!

  3. Congratulations! Now you can sew all sorts of wonderful things!

Leave a Reply

