The meandering thoughts….

Dear Readers,

So I’m down with pneumonia!!!   I haven’t felt well for months (!!) and earlier this week I noticed that I was short of breath and oddly enough, my chest was hurting when I’d cough! That finally prompted me to go to the doc and she said something like, “You’re on 72 hours of rest STARTING NOW!!!”  I’m on what is now my third day of sitting at home on my butt, doing a whole lot of nothing, but my chest is hurting less and I am breathing easier, so I’m not complaining too much.

If my sewing room was upstairs, I might be tempted to get in a little sewing, but it’s located in the basement and 1. I don’t think I should be dealing with the stairs right now and 2.  it’s colder down there, so probably not that great for me to be inhaling.  So on the couch I sit.  Yesterday, I watched TWO movies!  🙂  Mr and Mrs. Smith and The Croods.  OMG, I loved the Croods.  I think it would be an awesome Halloween costume to be Eep Crood.  Here’s a pic of her:  http://www.imdb.com/media/rm2497028608/tt0481499?ref_=ttmi_mi_all_sf_7

My dogs have dressed up for past Halloweens and I was thinking about dressing them up this year.

In the past, they’ve been prisoners:

IMG_0484 IMG_0493

One year they we had a ballerina and a ninja.

IMG_1703

And one year they were bunnies…

IMG_2556

I saw this picture in a magazine the other day while sitting at the docs and thought it would be awesome (and Easy!)…I’d just have to find fur in about the right color for both my dogs:

IMG_20150902_085806

I’ll have to see what I can find.  🙂

In grandbaby news, I think they’ll be finding out the gender today and officially making the announcement!!!  It should be fun.  My stepson is happy, and that’s good to hear….I’m sure he will gain an entirely different perspective on parenting!  He moved in with my husband and me when he was 14 and there were some ROUGH years in there.   I’m glad we all survived .  🙂  Anyway, I bought some new patterns and I checked out some things at Target.  I don’t think I’ll make too many clothes b/c those can be bought sooo cheaply, but I will make a few.  I think I’ll concentrate more on blankets, burp clothes and things like that.   I made two double sided flannel blankets last weekend.  I don’t seem to have a picture on my phone of them and they’re downstairs in the sewing room, so a pic will have to wait.  I really want to make a blanket with self binding in minky like here:  https://www.etsy.com/listing/98047405/self-binding-blanket-kumari-garden-minky?ref=related-2  I think those are so cute and I saw a tutorial on it the other day that seeemed pretty simple.  I picked up some minky from Needle Nooks, so I’m ready to go.  Maybe tomorrow or the next day if I feel up to it.  I really like the minky from Needle Nooks…I think it’s nicer than the joann’s/hancocks variety.

I also got these patterns.

IMG_20150904_102750 IMG_20150904_102746

This will be a South Dakota baby born in January, so warmth will be important.  When I make the  outerwear sleeper thing, I’m going to make the slot for the seatbelt a little bigger…I was checking those out in target the other day and some of them were quite large.   For the car seat cover, I really want to find out what they’re having and then I’ll make it…If it’s a boy (and maybe even if it’s a girl) , I think I’m going to make it out of Batman fabric because the mom loves Batman.  🙂

BREAKING NEWS! The message just came through and IT’S A BOY! 🙂  YEAH!!!!!!!!

Okay, now I can get my Snapsource order in!  I was waiting to hear the gender before I placed it!.   🙂

I may cut out a bunch of burp clothes later…I was just going to make a bunch using two pieces of fabric sewn together.  Maybe one side flannel and one side fleece or minky.  I’ve seen some that have a curved part for your neck, but I think I might just make them straight up rectangles with curved corners.  I can cut those out upstairs and it shouldn’t be a big deal.  I think I’ll put my snapsource order in first, though.

This is going to be so much  fun!!!! 🙂   Off to shop!

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in Baby!, Life, Silly Things. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The meandering thoughts….

  1. Nakisha says:

    Ouch! One of my coworkers is recovering from pneumonia.

    Take care and best wishes!

    The dogs are adorable and especially as bunnies! 🙂

  2. Thanks Nakisha!!! I have been resting and honestly…I didn’t realize how sick I was! Thank goodness for doctors!!!

    They’re cute as bunnies, but they’d be fearsome a lions!!! 🙂

  3. fabricfan says:

    I hope your recovery goes well, take care.

Leave a Reply

