HotPatterns 1136 – Plain and Simple Essential Shift – Muslin 1

Continuing on with hotpatterns patterns… I made a mini muslin of HP 1136, the Plain and Simple Essential Shift, the other night in a straight up size 8.  Here’s the result.

IMG_2534 IMG_2535

This top can be a dress or a top skirt, and you can do topstitching around all the seams.

I didn’t bother with the sleeve because I really wanted to make sure I was starting with the right size of bodice before I messed around with those.  As it turns out, this is a little too small for me, so I’m going to try it in a 10.  I have the 10 traced off, but haven’t had a chance to sew it up yet.  I was tracing it last night and I need to double check everything I did because I was so tired my eyes kept crossing.  I found myself on the wrong size a couple of times, so it definitely deserves a 2nd look before I start cutting!

I plan to do a forward shoulder adjustment, and possibly add a little shoulder width before I cut it out.  Hopefully I’ll have time to work on Muslin 2 tomorrow.   I have this awesome faux suede fabric that will be perfect for this top!

And, I got more fabric for my grandson to be!   Here it is…these are all from Fabric.com.

IMG_20150913_174848

How fun are those???  They’re all knit prints.  I plan to use them for little sleepers and things.  I also bought these patterns:

In this first one, I plan to make one or two of the swaddle thing…not sure if they’ll use it or not.  Since it’s their first, they’re not sure either!

IMG_20150913_174857

This one is just an example of exactly how lazy I am.  I honestly, and I’m not joking here, bought it for the burp cloth pattern.  I like the rest of the stuff that came with it…but really, it’s all about the burp cloth.  I just plan to sort through the stash, find some fun stuff, put two layers together and serge around the outside.  But, I wanted the pattern for the dimensions. I’m sure I could have easily drafted it…or found one on the internet…but why?  🙂   It was 3.99 on sale at Kwik Sew, and it comes with all the other stuff and I like Kwik Sew, so it made sense to me to just buy it.  🙂

IMG_20150913_174902

This third one is my favorite.  It cracks me up how the animals have their tongues sticking out and then there’s a pacifier on the end.  How cute is that?

IMG_20150913_174913

I still need to put the snaps on this sleeper.

IMG_20150825_210951

My snap order arrived last week and I haven’t taken the time yet to put them on it yet.  I might do that tomorrow. 🙂  So much sewing…so little time!

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in HotPatterns, Kwik Sew, Muslin. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HotPatterns 1136 – Plain and Simple Essential Shift – Muslin 1

  1. Oh my! I just love your baby stuff, the fabrics, the patterns. So cute! So cute actually that I apologize, I forgot what I was going to say about your top!

Leave a Reply

