Jalie 2680 – Finished

Finally!!!  This has seemed like the never ending coat project!  I put the final touches on it this morning.   Here are the dressform shots:

IMG_2616 IMG_2613 IMG_2611

And on me:

20151108_113252

Overall, I’m super pleased!!  This pattern went together perfectly and I used the threads tutorial to bag the lining.  I was worried about sewing the buttonholes, but after some experimentation, I felt confident that it would work.

I highly recommend this pattern…

In the meantime, I’ve been back in stuffed animal land.  I get a ridiculous amount of joy out of sewing stuffed animals…and I have a new niece who is about to be born so it seemed like a good reason to sew one!  Last night, I quickly worked on this one from Kwik Sew..

20151107_21335520151107_112121

It’s made from Kwik Sew 2791 …, which I originally bought for the blanket with the bear head attached.  The bear is ok…but he’s not quite the kind of cute that I was going for.

I have an old Mccalls pattern that I picked up from goodwill or somewhere that has a bear in it, but it just seemed fussy and difficult, so I went out today and bought Kwik Sew 3246.

20151107_215816 (1) 20151108_143844

We’ll see how it goes…I was going to start it later today.

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in Jalie, Kwik Sew. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jalie 2680 – Finished

  1. fabricfan says:

    Great jacket that really suits you.

  2. RainDayPerson says:

    It looks really nice on you! (great colour!)

  3. Your jacket is lovely – the colour of the outer fabric and the lining is great! So cute that you are sewing up a storm for the new baby!

  4. Well done! It looks gorgeous. I’m curious, did your softshell have a fuzzy lining already? Or was it flat and smooth? Mine is fuzzy, so I think I’m going to let that be the inside, rather than try to line it. Or would you suggest a lining in the sleeves for ease of putting on/taking off now that you’ve finished yours?

    • Hi Gwen, sorry, just seeing this now! The inside of mine was fuzzy and it really needs a lining to go on smoothly. I also used this fabric for a a short jalie jacket (sorry the number eludes me right now, but it’s on the blog just a few posts back.). I’m okay with that being unlined because it’s just a casual jacket, but for this longer one, I knew that I wanted to wear it for work and would prefer it lined.

Leave a Reply

