Jalie 2005, Hot Patterns La Strada

First up is Jalie 2005.   This is an out of print pattern, but I think it was hugely popular back in the day.  I tried the boatneck and really, I don’t like boatnecks that much, so the shirts were seldom worn.   But this time, I wanted to give the V neck a try.  All in all, it needs some tweaking, but the fit is great.  Seriously, I love how i can basically sew a Jalie with minimal adjustments.  In fact, in this one, the only thing I think I did was add about 3 inches in length.  On the next one, I could use a smidgen more at the hips, and i need to add a little ease to the biceps.  This is a lovely, super stretchy knit from Needle Nook Fabrics.  She calls it a Milano knit.  All I know is that it’s buttery soft.   And I have it in a few more colors too! 🙂

20170211_082832

20170211_082333

Sorry for the chopped off head, but I took this picture first thing this morning and I looked half asleep.

With the leftovers, I tried out the Hot Pattern La Strada T that has been nicely aging in my pattern pile for a little bit.  It’s not quite done yet in these pics, but its almost there.

 

20170211_083837

And on me!

20170211_134746    20170211_134757

It’s not quite done yet because once I put it on, I realized it was clinging at the hips.  I think that’s partly due to the fabric, and partly because I did a small bust adjustment and removed some of the width at the hips and forgot to re add it to the sides.  I posted for help on the Hot Patterns facebook page and got several suggestions, from steam blocking, to adding a side slit, to a godet and several said to just leave it alone.  I think tomorrow I’m going to try to insert a little godet in there.  I went through the scraps today and I do have a chunk big enough so I’m going to try it.  I had time to to do it today, but I was just done and needed a sewing break.  When I go back to it tomorrow, I’ll be nice and fresh.

Last weekend, I also made a muslin of the wrap top in the Hot Patterns Triple Torque Knit tops pattern.  I forgot to snap a pic of the pattern cover, but it has three styles of knit tops in it, one is a faux wrap, on has a big drape from the one shoulder  and one has draping at the tummy.  I liked the way the faux wrap looked, so I tested it. This is some seriously crazy fabric.  All in all, it’s a good start.  I didn’t do a small bust adjustment in that muslin, so I added it later. I also need to raise the armholes and tighten up the neck band a little bit.  I think it’s a good top, I just got side tracked.  Maybe this week I’ll get back to it.  I REALLY like how the neck band is graduated in size.  I think that looks very snazzy.  🙂

20170129_172844

That’s all for now…work has been keeping me pretty busy so my sewing is mostly limited to the weekends right now.  Hopefully things will let up soon!

Happy Sewing!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in HotPatterns, Jalie, Muslin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

