More Lekala Testing, some undies and a little Jalie

So I am love the theory behind the Lekala patterns.  You put in your measurements….it gives you a pattern.  I’ve done a few tests.  All in all, I love it.  The bust tends to fit me dead on and I do need to do some small tweaks at the hips.  Here is last night’s test…  This is 4582, what I consider to be a woven work dress:

1988_technical_drawing_19954

I decided to test this particular one because it had sleeves.   Previously I had tested some tank style dresses, but I knew I’d need to test a sleeve to get an accurate assessment of the back fit.

Here’s my test:

20170616_19544820170616_195757

All in all, I can’t believe how well this fit. I did learn that I need to bump up my waist and hip inches by an inch, but the bust and the shoulders are PERFECT. It’s amazing.  The length on the skirt turned out a little too short for my liking, but that’s also an easy thing to fix.  I think these patterns are brilliant and can’t wait to make up more.

In between all that, I also made 11 pairs of undies from my favorite Kwik Sew 2908 pattern.

Here are the 5 I kept for me..the other 6 went to my sister and I forgot to take a picture before they left!

20170611_111613

View C of Kwik Sew 2908

IMG_20150718_132514

The best undie pattern ever

In the middle of the undie sewing, I started to have the worst time with my machine.  The fabric just wasn’t feeding correctly. Finally i realized that it was likely my walking foot, so I went to Joanns and bought another one.  It was branded as a Singer walking foot and it just did not work at all.  Based on some advice from the smart people at Pattern Review, I bought one from Sears for a Kenmore machine.   I have a Kenmore (which is really a Janome in disguise.)  This walking foot is AMAZING!    I’m glad it’s not my machine because I didn’t want to not have it while it was in for servicing! I’ll kick the can on that one a little while longer! 🙂

Next up was a quick Jalie top for my sister.  I’ve never made this pattern before so the ladies on the Jalie Facebook page helped me out with sizing.  My sister said she loves it!  This fabric is soooo gorgeous….it came from Needle Nook Fabric in Wichita.

20170610_12394120170610_184417

The top sewed up perfectly.  I love Jalie patterns.  I’m on the lookout for some fabric for me to make this up in.

And that catches us up to now!  Next up is a quick bikini for my sis.  It’s another surprise gift in a cute Navy with red polka dots.

Happy Sewing!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Lekala Testing, some undies and a little Jalie

  1. Tee says:

    wow, you accomplished a lot! Did not know about that pattern line. Great fit! I get good results with my Wildginger pattern software. I like that I can design my own looks with it.

Leave a Reply

