Kwik Sew 3963 – When a Bunny Becomes a Puppy

My grandson is turning 3 soon, so I wanted to get this little hat made for him for one of his birthday presents. This really turned out to be a fun little project.  I started making the bunny with some of the leftover fleece. Somehow, and I’m not sure how exactly, it ended up looking more like a floppy-eared puppy.  But…I’m not picky so we’re going with it.  A puppy it is!

This pattern makes the cutest little hat.   This is one of the projects where there’s nothing really difficult, but the end product is adorable.  For me, the hardest part was getting the face stitched on.  I chose to use a white fur that I had in the stash from some other project, and the pile on it made it especially difficult.  It’s hard to make markings on fur, let me tell you!  I wanted to use normal fleece, but the only white fleece I could find in my stash had been washed with some red (Oops!), so it has a pink tinge.  I didn’t want to use that…and I didn’t want to go out and buy new, so white fur it was.   All in all, this guy is cute.  I hope my grandson likes him!  If I were to make this again, I would probably use normal fleece for the whole thing.   You repeat the fabric in the ties, and I did choose to use all three, but my fur has a backing for a fur on it and that’s exposed.  I decided that my grandson wasn’t really going to care and just went with it.

Here’s the pattern cover…

20190119_100725

 

And the finished hat….

20190119_100646

We had some snow blow in last night, so I’m making this a snow day (err…I mean a “sew day.” ) :):)  Usually on Saturdays I’d run some errands and do some volunteer stuff, but it rained pretty hard last night first, then it transitioned to snow.  It’s still in the teens  out there, so I imagine a lot of the roads are still pretty slick.  Nothing wrong with staying in!

I haven’t exactly decided what I’m going to work on next.  I was contemplating fabrics for some more work tops the other night, but I might change my mind once I get down there.  🙂

Happy sewing!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment