HotPatterns Metropolitan Verano – 1138 – Final Version

Don’t you all just love a finished project?!!!

Here are the pics:

IMG_25301

Without necklace to show off the neckline!

IMG_25281

My husband and I went out for brunch this morning, so this is my casual look with this top.

IMG_25291 IMG_20150910_193340_edit(1)

Isn’t this just a gorgeous rich color?!!!  The picture on the dressform is so dark, but I was using my cell phone and you get what you get.  Overall, I have to say, I LOVE THIS TOP!!!!!!!!!!

This is a size 8, but I did take it in above the waist and I interfaced  the seam areas at the neck and shoulders with fusible tricot.  This fabric has four way stretch and I didn’t want to doing wacky things, so I figured interfacing would do the trick.  Here’s a photo of the partially finished guts.   I didn’t take the interfacing completely over to the outside of the arms because I’m just leaving the hems unfinished.  This is a gorgeous top and I didn’t want to run the risk of screwing it up with wonky hems!!!  Sometimes less is more!

IMG_20150909_205957

I wasn’t planning on wearing it this morning, but then decided at the last minute that it’d be a perfect trial wear.  After the wear this morning, I do want to sew on bra strap holders.  It has the tendency to slide around a little and I know the strap holders will keep it right where it belongs (and keep  my bra hidden!).

Overall, GREAT top!!  I’m considering making a dress in from this pattern and fabric.  I think it’d be gorgeous and I have enough fabric.  That’s not next on the list though.  I want to try another one of the HP tops that I bought recently.  🙂  I think it’ll be the Cote d’Azur top…but I’m not sure!

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in HotPatterns. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to HotPatterns Metropolitan Verano – 1138 – Final Version

  1. Your top looks wonderful! So effortlessly chic–the neckline is so pretty on you! I’ve been thinking of buying the HP Chimera jacket pattern, but maybe I need to add this one to the list as well. =)

  2. Very nice! Looks like it would make a gorgeous dress, too!

  3. Thanks Mads!!! You should try the chimera! I’d love to see it!!! If you’re not on the Hot Patterns facebook page, I’d suggest joining! It’s very helpful!

  4. Nakisha says:

    This looks really good on you! Highlights your shoulders and small waist quite nicely. And the color is yummy. Downright yummy!

  5. I love the twist on the front. The solid colour really shows it off!

Leave a comment